Chocolate Hazelnut spread! (vegan)

For my entire childhood, and several years into my adult life I had never experienced Nutella. Until I was living in Europe, that is.  In Germany I got my first taste of Nutella, and eventually an Italian version called Hazelnuss Spread that was even better!  Once I returned to the states and really adjusted my diet to a more whole food/plant based take I knew there would need to be some changes made to my favorite nut butter to make it healthy and vegan.

With lots of internet searching and how to’s I found my favorite version of this chocolatey wonder!  I never knew how simple it would be to make your own nut butter/spread and how much better it would taste!
Image
Chocolate Hazelnut Spread
-adapted from; Chocolate Covered Katie
Ingredients
2 1/4 cup raw hazelnuts
1 1/2 Tbsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup raw agave nectar
1/4 tsp salt, + a pinch
1/2 cup almond milk
2 tsp coconut oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

On a baking sheet roast hazelnuts for 10-12 minutes, until the skins become dark brown and start to wilt.

With a clean kitchen towel, or paper towel rub the skins of the hazelnuts and place in a food processor.  Pulse until the hazelnuts become smooth.

Add all remaining ingredients, and pulse until fully incorporated.

Store spread in an airtight container in the refrigerator.  This spread is delicious right away, but it does become a bit sweeter after is sits in the refrigerator overnight.
Image
Enjoy on toast, muffins, or by the spoonful!

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Hazelnut spread! (vegan)

  1. michaelawanders says:

    I discovered Nutella first year of college with a lot of my friends . . . we loved it so much some of our guy friends made a parody video of us and Nutella! This, however, looks muuuchhh better and is sans milk, which I love!

  2. kdilcappello says:

    This is absolutely delicious, and has much less sugar than the original–making any spread at home helps to make it really customizable to suit your tastes, hope you enjoy–thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

