Mini Chip Banana Bread (vegan)

Today I decided to do a little experimenting with a family favorite recipe, but my son had other plans.  I am still adjusting to my oven/stove top because until now I had never worked with gas.  Add a wild toddler to the mix and there are sure to be days where baking just doesn’t go the way you planned.  Although my stove has these giant plastic “baby-proof” knobs, my son still managed to pull a fast one on me.

I set my oven to a toasty 350 degrees to bake a wonderful banana loaf, but part way through baking I felt compelled to check on the progress only to discover a very toasted crust and a tender center.  I was shocked to say the least, so I checked my oven temperature only to find that it was set at 450 degrees!  Although my son cannot reach to the actual knobs he must have spun those darn plastic covers until the heat was turned up, much to my displeasure.  This brought me to the obvious conclusion that my son is out growing a great deal of the “baby-proofed”  areas of the house, and my real troubles are only beginning.

Although this bread did not come out “perfect” it was still quite delicious, and if it had been given the proper temperature and time to bake I think it would be just right.  Even though there were some bumps in the road for this recipe I still decided the taste alone made it worthy of blogging about.  I hope you enjoy this recipe, and if you ever have a crazy kitchen gremlin/toddler in your midst know that you are not alone!

IMG_2240
Mini Chip Banana Bread
Ingredients
3-4 ripe Bananas
1 Tbsp ground flax
1 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/8 salt
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/2 maple syrup
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (dairy free)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees (be sure no one sneaks in and changes it on you!).  Prepare a loaf pan with parchment, or spray with non-stick cooking oil.
IMG_2242

In a large bowl sift together flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and ground flax.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment combine maple syrup, coconut oil, vanilla, and 1/2 inch thick slices of banana.  If you prefer you can mash the banana by hand or puree (I prefer a chunky banana bread so I let the mixer to the mashing).

Slowly add flour mixture into your wet ingredients until just combined  Fold in mini chips.
IMG_2237

Pour into your loaf pan and bake for 35-45 minutes.  Allow to cool in the loaf pan, serve warm.
IMG_2245
I know he was really just trying to help!  Maybe it’s because I was baking with his favorite food (bananas) or the fact that he thinks those oven mitts belong to him, I think he is just excited to be a little chef!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

